Possible Purchase

Talk about your Rotaries!
onenote08

Possible Purchase

Postby onenote08 » Tue Oct 14, 2014 9:14

Well Mortose is having me inquire about a possible buy of an FD. I am new to rotary but not new to cars or Mazda in general.

Link to car is here: http://boulder.craigslist.org/cto/4647751283.html

As you can see it's been listed for a while, and is cheap and could have problems and whatever else. I've talked to the current owner (please enlighten me if any of you have looked at it, talked to him whichever) but right now I need to pick brains and possibly have help if this is something that I pick up.

Here is what I know:

Car has been down for a year
Engine was rebuilt a year ago out of a shop in LA (I've asked if he has paperwork)
13B JDM
~112k on the body

says it needs the wiring checked (he doesn't know where the EGT goes) and new IC piping.

"I gave up on it a year or so ago. I had to swap a few pins to make the JDM wiring harness work with the US ECU. The original 13B was not able to be rebuilt so I ordered the JDM one."

Says I am welcome to scope it and everything if I want. Paint is OK, interior seats could use new skin and a couple of miscellaneous things.

He also said he's put a bit of trans fluid in the housings.

So, as I am continuing to educate myself with online research, please tell me if you this this is going to be a monster or if it could be a-ok. If it is a-ok would anyone be willing to look at it with me, possibly help with the wiring fix and lead me in the right direction of IC piping?

I appreciate any and all insight. Thank you in advance.

Saul_Good
Location: Cerritos, CA (DW says i can't play here anymore...)

Postby Saul_Good » Tue Oct 14, 2014 9:14

Is this a car you intend to buy and drive right away or is it something you can afford to have downtime on?

If you can afford the downtime (depending on your threshold for that downtime) might be worth getting.